2008 Gold Coast Open Teams

A fantastic total of 274 teams contested the Open Championship, and about another
150 teams in Restricted events. From that 274, only the top 6 would qualify for the
guarter-finals, with the top 2 going straight through to the semi-finals.

A Chinese representative team took one final place and the other was taken by the Irish
Internationals (Tom Hanlon & Hugh McGann) who had earlier won the Open Pairs, and
Kate McCallum from the USA playing with Australia’s adopted son, Paul Marsden. The
final was won by the composite Irish/USA/Australian team.

Tony Jackman, Meta Goodman, Wynne Webber, Sue Lusk, Therese Tully and myself
had some success, mixed with failure at the wrong time, and when we ended with a bad
loss, we just finished in the top third of the field. At one stage we were playing at table
272, but this was not because we were doing badly, but because an ACT of enthusiastic
Juniors was doing well. Against us they went astray a few times by forgetting their
artificial system at crucial times.

Our most satisfying result was against Murray Green’s team, which included the Chinese
pair which recently won the World Open Pairs, and in a very low scoring match we ended
up on the right side of a winning draw. As usual with a 6-man team | did not play all of

the matches and will confine my report to those matches that | did play.

M 2 KQJ64 On board 16 in match 2 | had a minor scare at the thought of possible
Bd 16 KJ5 bad things about to happen when Tony opened 2D, to show 4 spades,
Dir W Jg7 at least 4 hearts, many other distributions in the minors, and 11-15
Vul All J9 HCPs.
A753 8 After a few anxious seconds | hit upon the obvious answer and
AT63 Q9 passed, hoping Tony was not 4504.
'}A(‘T52 5325432 He was a little surprised at my pass, as it rarely happens, but settled
T92 down when he saw dummy and managed to make 10 tricks when all
8742 suits behaved for +130.
QT At the other table Wynne and Meta had a 1C opening, allowing a 1S
AQ43 overcall, but the final contract of 2S proved 1 too high for -100, but still
W N E S a paltry 1 Imp to us.
2D I
M 2 AKT93 On board 19 in match 2 Tony opened with a forcing 1C and my 2C
Bd 19 KT53 showed just 5-8 HCPs. My first instinct was to jump to 5C, but with
DIr S K943 such a long suit, | needed very little to make slam.
VUlEW - When Tony showed his heart suit and South showed some values |
J 876 gave up on slam, although from the 2S support it was likely that he
AQ976 Ja had only 1 or 2 spades, and simply bid game in my long suit.
AQ762 . When North bid 5S, my pass was forcing to a certain extent, and
AJ KQ876543 . . . .
542 Tony, without good support and a minimum of high cards for his 1C
gz bid, elected to defend.
JT85 | led the HJ, won by Tony with the HA to lead a small diamond, an
T92 unbid suit. Declarer could deduce from the opening 1C bid that Tony
W N E s had the DA, and did not want to let me win the DQ, so rose with the
/ DK which | ruffed, and had to lose 2 further diamonds for +300.
1C 1S 2C 2S At the other table, EW continued on to 6C, which went off 1 for
3H / 5C / another +100 and 9 Imps.
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On board 27 in match 2 | was taken out of the bidding by North’s limit
raise in diamonds, and South’s jump to 5D prevented Tony from
showing his other suit, if he had wanted to!

The play was very simple, and declarer lost just the 2 Aces to make
11 tricks and -400 to us.

At the other table, North bid 2S to show the limit raise instead of 3D,
and that gave my hand a chance to show the spade support by
doubling.

This was a chance no doubt regretted by the end of the hand, as
West, probably expecting their undisclosed second suit and diamond
void to be an asset, grasped the bidding mantle and did not stop until
it had reached 5SX.

The very reason that allowed 5D to make (the 4-1 spade break) made
5SX a disaster, it drifted 5 down for +1100 to us and a bonus of 12
Imps. If the spades were 3-2, the contract would probably have gone
only 2 off, but 5D would have been 1 down also.

Board 5 in match 3 was a complete disaster when not only did we
miss the cold game in either minor suit (actually slam is on the
diamond guess), but allowed NS to make 4SX.

My 2S was a Michael's cue-bid, and Tony knew that we had a good fit
in one of the minors, probably diamonds, but he also had some trick-
taking potential, and NS were vulnerable, so elected to go for the
penalty.

On a minor suit lead 4S is cold off, as North must lose 2 hearts, a
diamond and a club, even if he takes the spade finesse, but | led the
HA to look at dummy and was initially glad to see the fall of the
Queen.

| had nothing of value left in my hand, but led the H4 for Tony to ruff,
as my clubs at least had an honour.

We can still take it 1 off by Tony underleading his club honours, but
this was too hard, and while Tony could see by dummy’s spade length
that | had a void (and likely 3 clubs), he did not know that North's
hearts were good enough to discard the diamond loser, so tried to
cash 2 clubs. -790 to go with the -420 from 5C at the other table.

Board 8 in match 3 created much discussion as most people seemed
to be going off in 3NT but Deep Finesse said it was cold!

Tony took the standard approach, as did the declarer at the other
table, when he won the 3" spade, ran the clubs, and tried the
diamond finesse. North was under no pressure, and simply cashed
his spade and exited with a heart, having discarded a heart on the 4"
club. 1 off

Contrary to normal instincts, declarer must win the 2" spade and run
the clubs, discarding a diamond!

If North discards a heart, declarer cashes the DA and HA and exits
with a spade, and North is endplayed to give the 9™ trick to declarer
by the forced diamond return into the tenace.

If North discards a diamond, declarer plays 3 rounds of diamonds to
set up the 9" trick in diamonds immediately, with the HA as an entry.



M 4
Bd 15
DIr S
Vul NS
J5
QT852
QJ65
62

M4

Bd 22
Dir E
Vul EW
92
T942
97
QJ863

M5
Bd 14
Dir E
Vul Nil
853
T43
J8653
83

T742

AJ63

K98

75
963
974
T4
JT943

AKQS8

A732
AKQS8

1C
2NT / 3C
3H / 6NT

QJ8
K85
QT8652

A54
AQ76
J3

AK92

KT962

Q87

AQ

QT6
AQ7
J95
K2
AJ974

Ja

AK62

T974

K52

N E S

INT /
2D / 2H
2S I

On board 15 in match 4 we seemed to have missed a golden
opportunity, but as so happens in teams matches, the pair at the other
table did not even get to slam so bidding 7S would have gained us
very little, and as others found out when they did not take the right
line, the penalty is high if you go off in a grand slam.

My 2NT response shows a balanced 8-10, and Tony's 3C was
Stayman, but 3H does not deny a 4-card spade suit, so Tony could
have bid 3S instead of 6NT, and | would have been able to cue-bid
hearts on the way to a possible grand slam.

In 7S, declarer must cash the top 2 spades, and when the SJ falls, he
can pitch a diamond on the 3" club and ruff the 4™ club low. Next lead
to the HK and return to the DK to lead the HA for a diamond discard.

Finally lead to the DA and ruff a diamond with the ST while East
watches helplessly and dummy takes the last 2 tricks. At the other
table NS played in just 4S, so we gained 13 Imps.

On board 22 EW got themselves into trouble when West doubled my
3D (single-suiter) for take-out, but East thought it was a penalty
double, so passed it out. In our system, 2D shows any single-suiter,
but since that entails a 3-level bid if it is a minor, we leave 2D for good
hands in a minor, and use weak-jumps otherwise.

Actually EW are already too high, with 4 top losers in a club contract,
but INT had at least 7 tricks so 3D is okay even if 1 off. As it is, even
though 4C is 1 down (probably doubled), is still better for EW than
3DX making.

In 3DX | had no worries, and when East did not find the double-
dummy defense of underleading her club honours for West to lead a
heart through, | made 10 tricks for +570.

At the other table, the opening bid was not INT, so South was able to
overcall 1S, whereupon NS pushed all the way to 4SX, which went 2
off for +300 and 13 Imps.

On board 14 in match 5 after East opened 1NT (15-17) we stayed out
of game on our combined 24 count, and were rewarded when game is
not on.

My 2D showed a single-suiter, 2H was correctible, and 2S was
passed out. East led the H5.

Since all of the outstanding high cards are marked by the opening
INT, 2S was never in jeopardy, and in a desperate effort to beat 2S,
after winning the SQ East led the DK and followed up after winning
the SA with the CA, so | made 10 tricks for +170.

4S goes off with an opening club lead, as East can give his partner a
ruff before trumps can be drawn. Even a club switch after winning the
SQ will lead to a club ruff and only 9 tricks.

At the other table, Therese and Sue were playing a weak 1NT, so the
opening bid was 1C, and somehow NS contrived to get to 3NT, which
had no chance on a club lead. This was +6 Imps in a match won by
14-12 against teams 2.
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On board 20 in match 6 | forced to game with 2H, although perhaps a
better bid would have been 2NT, after which Tony could have bid 3C
to find out about a 5-card major if he was interested.

He now bid a natural 3C, but probably expecting me to have a 6-card
suit, converted my belated 3NT to 4H.

North led the D2 to 4H and | could see how 4H was a slightly superior
contract to 3NT, but neither game was a good bet.

First to get rid of the diamond loser (at least the diamonds looked to
be 4-3), so | played 2 rounds of spades, won the diamond return and
discarded my diamond loser on the SJ.

A successful diamond ruff and | was in dummy to take the trump
finesse, but which one to finesse for?

| was very relieved when South covered the H9 with the HJ and my
HQ won the trick. With the hearts well placed +620 was the result but
only 1 Imp as 3NT at the other table was unbeatable..

On board 26 in match 6 we appeared to be given a chance in 5C
when North did not start with 2 rounds of clubs, preferring the HQ.

It looked good for a while, as | was able to crossruff twice in dummy
and twice in my hand before North came into the play, but when | led
a spade for the 3" ruff in dummy, North could pitch a diamond and
then over-ruff me in diamonds.

The heart exit left me with no resort, as no matter what South did, |
had to lose 2 more trumps and -100.

With the obvious misfit, we would have obviously been better to have
played in just 4C, but at least we did better than EW at the other table,
who got to the awful contract of 3NT, finishing 3 off for +300 to us and
5 Imps.

On board 27 in match 6 South picked a good time to open at the 1-
level with their 7420, rather than a full-blooded 4H as at the other
table.

In 4HX at the other table, declarer had no chance, and finished 4 off
for -800, Deep Finesse even suggests that EW can make 7 tricks in
hearts on their 3-3 fit, probably because South gets trump-bound.

Over 1H | overcalled 2D, and North was forced to pass, allowing Tony
to bid 2S, which was forcing for 1 round.

If I had 6 diamonds, | would have forced to game with 3H, but lacking
the length, | compromised by bidding 3S, hoping my SA would make
up for the lack of a 3" trump.

Tony would have been better to bid 3NT with his good hearts, but
instead bid a normal 4S, which must have sparked North's interest,
but no double was forthcoming. This contract went 2 off for another -
100 and 14 Imps away.
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On board 9 in match 7 North had a problem over Tony’s 4S overcall,
and, possibly looking at the Vulnerability, got it wrong when she
doubled to show values. 4NT to show 2 places to play would have
turned out better.

This would have doubtless seemed like a good idea looking at 3 quick
tricks and a possible heart trick, but the diamond tricks were not real,
as North found out when she led the DA!

With North on lead there was no way for NS to get a heart trick, and
Tony finished with 11 tricks for +990. After ruffing the DA declarer can
establish the clubs for a heart discard before leading trumps.

Even if by some systemic flaw East was declarer, allowing South to
lead a heart, EW still have 10 tricks.

At the other table NS elected to bid over 4S, and conceded -500 in
5HX for 10 Imps.

On board 3 in match 9 we caught North at a disadvantage when Tony
opened 1D, showing a minimum of 2 diamonds and 11-15 HCPs.

Nothing really appeals with that singleton club, as surely South will bid
clubs in response to a take-out double, but | am sure that not many
others would elect to pass with 3 Aces and a King!

North elected to pass and await developments, but there was no more
action! South was not inclined to bid on such minimal values, although
| am sure most others would, and North led a small diamond.

| think that South forgot to evaluate Tony's hand as having a
maximum of 15 HCPs, so North was marked with quite a good hand.

To make matters worse, NS contrived to let Tony make 9 tricks for
+110. At the other table our NS were not so restrained and finished in
4H for 10 tricks and +420. +11 Imps

On board 7 in match 9 we were gifted a huge swing when South was
not fully conversant with the rules of the game. Tony’s double showed
the red suits, and South’s 3C was a Bergen raise.

On an earlier hand North had forgotten Bergen raises, but the error
had not been costly. Then a few short boards later, South tried her
hand again with a Bergen raise, and again North forgot.

This time it was very costly as the final result was 6 down for +1700 to
us. Since the result at the other table had been 11 tricks in 5S for
+650, that was a massive 20 Imps.

The problem with the rules was that South knew that North had
forgotten Bergen again when she bid 5C, but did not realize that she
was perfectly entitled to correct 5C to 5S, especially after the double.

In the end she passed and complained aloud about North forgetting
Bergen, but this of course makes it difficult North for to correct her
mistake if she had woken up. However | think she did not realize it.
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On board 27 in match 10 we had a lucky escape when | initially
doubled INT for penalties, rescued by Tony, but then thought | had
enough to double 3NT when EW kept bidding, pass forces a redouble.

Against 3NTX | led the HK (a mistake) and was disappointed to see
dummy’s spades as well as 8 points, which meant very little for Tony’s
hand, and | was resigned to writing down -550.

| could count 8 tricks, including 2 in spades for declarer, but what was
| going to throw on the clubs? Still maybe declarer would try another
line or have a club loser, so | exited with the SK.

Declarer made no mistake with playing the clubs for 4 tricks, and on
the 4™ club | was squeezed in 3 suits, having already pitched a heart
and spade. Whatever | pitch is a telling card, if a heart declarer can
exit to my bare Ace, if a diamond declarer can duck a diamond for 9
tricks, and if a spade, declarer can duck a spade to me and the forced
diamond return gives up my second diamond trick.

In the end declarer cashed the DK before exiting with a spade so we
got an undeserved +100. At the other table, NS found their spade fit
and conceded only 300 in 4SX, but 10 Imps to us.

On board 28 in match 10, the last of the tournament, we finished on a
low point when Tony elected to bid hi fine sui, possibly looking for
slam, instead of 3S, asking me to bid 3NT with a spade stopper.

My 1C was Precision, and Tony’s 3D was a positive response with
diamonds, so | only got to show my good 6-card suit for the first time
at the 3-level!

3NT makes 11 tricks from either hand, but in 4H EW did not make any
mistake and | went 2 off.

Eats led the SA and continued with the SQ, but West did not make the
mistake of ruffing my loser with his winning trump, so | won in hand to
play 2 rounds of trumps.

| am still cold if West has the top 2 trumps, as EW cannot cash a
spade trick, but no luck and the contract was off. 5D fares no better on
a spade lead as East can cash 2 tricks and give his partner a ruff.

At the other table there was no spade overcall (?) and on the club
lead South made 13 tricks in 5D.



